Beginning in 2015, Mercedes-Benz is revising its nomenclature strategy for many of its models. This isn’t shocking news, nor is it anything new in the industry – look at the recent Q-ification of Infiniti, or the forthcoming CT/XTstrategy being deployed at Cadillac. But unlike those luxury brands, Mercedes isn’t shaking up the whole system, and it’s actually (kind of) making things a bit easier to understand. Here’s how.

First, the German automaker’s crossover and SUV lineup will go fully “G,” and will correspond with the class lines on which the vehicles are based.

  • GLA – Unchanged; Merc’s new small crossover based on the A-Class
  • GLC – Currently the GLK
  • GLE – Currently the M-Class, also known as ML
  • GLE Coupe – The swoopy new BMW X6-fighter that we’ve already seen testing
  • GLS – Currently the GL-Class, now to be thought of as the S-Class of the SUV line
  • G – The Geländewagen, and the pinnacle of the brand’s SUVs

Things remain relatively unchanged in the rest of the lineup – sedans and four-door coupes (CLA and CLS) keep their current names. The only other notable model name change is in the roadster range, where the smaller SLK now becomes the SLC. That said, the German automaker is switching up its drivetrain designations. Things like “BlueTEC,” “Electric Drive,” “CDI,” and even “Hybrid” are being phased out in favor of one-letter add-ons. Standard gasoline models won’t get any special designation, and 4Matic will continue on as the name for the automaker’s all-wheel-drive system.

  • c – Compressed natural gas, currently “Natural Gas Drive”
  • d – Diesel, currently written as “BlueTEC” or “CDI”
  • e – Electric, which wipes out “Plug-In Hybrid,” “BlueTEC Plug-In Hybrid,” and “Electric Drive”
  • f – Fuel cell, or “F-Cell” currently
  • h – Hybrids, including diesel-hybrids

So, by this logic, what we currently know as a GLK250 BlueTEC will become a GLC250d (when the new GLC makes its debut). And something like the current E400 Hybrid will condense its name to E400h. But wait, there’s more…


The Maybach sub-brand will debut on a more luxurious version of the S-Class at the LA Auto Show.

As rumored, Mercedes will put its Maybach name to good use, this time as a sub-brand that will debut on a more luxurious version of the S-Class later this month at the Los Angeles Auto Show. That model will be officially be dubbed the Mercedes-Maybach S600. The automaker says this new vehicle “sets a new benchmark for exclusivity and meets even the most discerning of requirements in terms of its appointments.” This means “extra spaciousness, special seats and lavishly designed, prestigious interiors,” according to the company’s press release. You can see two teasers of the ultra-lux car in the gallery, here.

The name Mercedes-Maybach uses the same structure as Mercedes-AMG, which was recently given to both the new GT and C63, and will expand through the lineup as each new AMG product is introduced or refreshed. As for how the new Maybach and AMG names will be displayed on the vehicles, Mercedes-Benz spokesperson Christian Bokich says they will follow the same formula: “the placement will be ‘AMG’ on the driver’s side, the Three-Pointed Star in the center, and the model designation on the passenger side.”

“Now is the ideal time to do this, for in 2015 we will be updating virtually our whole SUV model range, providing us with the perfect starting point for renaming the whole family of vehicles,” Dr. Jens Theimer, head of marketing communications for Mercedes-Benz passenger cars, said in an official release. For more information on the name changes, scroll down for Benz’s full press blast.

News Source: Mercedes-Benz